Tee it up again

FORE.

I remember my eleventh birthday when I got the 5-club set of junior golf clubs from my parents. Apparently Rawlings makes more than just baseballs (who knew?). The clubs looked like they were made from the same metal used in highway guard rails and they came in a sickly looking nylon golf bag. I couldn’t have been happier and I treated those clubs as though they belonged in Tiger’s bag (before all the “ladies” loved him). Going out to play that first round, my dad was constantly telling me to stop getting frustrated. “It’s your first time!” he said. “We’ll go practice and try again.” I like to look at Kogod as my next round.

Actual Size: My first set of clubs. Puh-thetic.

I’ve come to Kogod with a new sense of focus and determination to get more than just  a master’s degree. My experiences throughout school and work have made me want to strive for a better future. I’ve shanked a couple decisions, duffed others, and whiffed on a few. But all those decisions have honed my sights on something bigger for myself. Kogod’s the fairway and while I’m here, I’m going to bomb one right down the middle.

It took me a long time to realize that you don’t really lose in golf, you just don’t always do as well as you wanted to. The point is that you can always come back and give it another go as long as you’re willing to try again. I’ve found Kogod to be a great place to get creative and pull a few trick shots out of my arsenal and I look forward to the improvement it will make on my future and my career.

Nursing Home Orderly: Good news, everybody, we’re extending arts and crafts time by four hours today.
Elderly Woman: My fingers hurt.
Nursing Home Orderly: What’s that?
Elderly Woman: My fingers hurt.
Nursing Home Orderly: Oh, well, now your back’s gonna hurt, ’cause you just pulled landscaping duty. Anybody else’s fingers hurt?… I didn’t think so.”

Happy Gilmore – THE greatest golf movie of all time.

One thought on “Tee it up again

Leave a Reply

