Is it May yet??

I have to be honest, this semester stinks. I’m tired, stressed out and am counting down the days till May 3, my final final of this spring semester. But sometimes its semesters like these that remind you of why you chose the school you did and what you love and truly value about it.

My daddy taught me how to spell.

If you haven’t guess by now, I’m a bit type A. Ok, ok, that might be an understatement — I’m extremely type A. So its not a surprise that I’ve always done pretty well in school. But this semester surprised me with the worst grade I have ever experienced in my life, and I mean LIFE, like worse than any third grade spelling test (and mannnn was I bad at spelling!).  And I’m not gonna lie, it sucked, I was upset, but I’ve also found something really great as a result: Professor Kent Baker, the master of all things financial and the safe haven that are office hours.

Many students, including my past self are slightly uncomfortable with the idea of office hours. I think we get caught up in the, “oh my professor is an expert, he writes books, why would he want to help me figure out something as stupid as NPV?” But I’m pleased to say my experience with reaching out to a professor for help has been completely different than I ever expected. Refusing to accept defeat (I will triumph over you finance!!), I have spent much of this semester meeting with Professor Baker going over countless finance problems. While a student may fear that this is an inconvenience to their professor, I’ve found that for the most part my professors enjoy this one on one time with their students, because at the end of the day, they genuinely want us to succeed. And if you still feel guilty about going, just remember Paul Celano went to every single office hour with Professor Lindsay. LITERALLY- every. single. one. (And we love him for that!)

So, in true Professor Baker fashion, I leave you with the following takeaways:

Me after the next finance test...hopefully...

1. Don’t ever be afraid to ask for help, whether it be from your peers, your ta’s or your professors. One of the benefits of the AU program is its size, take advantage of this!

2. It’s not all about the grade. Yes, straight A’s are great, and they look snazzy on a resume, but at the end of the day its about what you learn, both inside the classroom and out.

3. You can’t be naturally great at everything. You can’t, sorry to burst your bubble, but it’s not possible. BUT you can work your butt off, accept extra help, attend peer learning and office hours, and do well. If you want an A, EARN IT! And then go get a stein at Chef Geoff’s to celebrate 😉

Leave a Reply

