Fantasy football – and friendships at Kogod

So, you’re in class with a group of people for 15 weeks at a time. You meet someone new and then proceed through the seemingly ritualistic process of becoming friends. “Hey where are you from? Who do you work for? Oh I never heard of that company…what do they do?”

You finally determine that, as you expected, this person will not rip your head off, nor will they steal your pen when you’re not looking. They are a good person; someone you wouldn’t mind being connected with in the future. A few laughs are shared, you both agree that the awkward comment that John Doe just blurted out was awkward, and you become friends. This usually happens right at week 14 and at that point, it seems like all is lost. Vacation comes, you pick different class schedules, and as you and your new friend go in opposite directions, violins play softly in the background of the movie entitled “Your MBA Life.”

How do you bridge the gap, keep those friends you have made, and sustain those vital relationships? You could schedule a dinner where everyone has to struggle with his or her calendar to meet up. You could count on catching up at the not-so-annual Kogod golf tournament, or you could do what a few of my friends and I have decided to do: FANTASY FOOTBALL.

Those of you following me on Twitter (@JohnFishback) know two things. One, I’m new to Twitter; and two, I’ve unleashed its one true power as a treasure trove of information on how to dominate your Fantasy Football league. I’m obsessed with the stats, who’s good, who’s bad, and I’m making trades and picking up players at an alarmingly fast and undoubtedly inefficient rate.

I’m even dishing some of the sweetest “smack talk” this side of the great Mississippi River. It’s all in fun, and it’s much more than just a way gain bragging rights; it’s a simple way to maintain these all-important friendships we’ve worked so hard to create. When I see the guys in my league in the halls of Kogod, we have more to talk about than “how work is going.”

Now, let’s get one thing straight. I’m very interested in what my friends are doing professionally, but I have to say, I feel like I’m boring people when I tell them that things are still going well for the 10th time. Fantasy Football and our friendly competition give us something we can all relate to on an informal basis. It’s fun. It’s easy. Guys AND girls can play. It’s not hard to be good, and it’s very easy to be lucky. If you’re looking for a way to keep your Kogod relationships alive, give Fantasy Football a try. If you’ve discovered another way to keep strong the friendships you’ve made, share them below!

As a note, I got destroyed in Week 1 of my fantasy football season. Time for some rash decision-making based on hearsay. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

