Money Woes

Kevin as "The Penny Pincher" at our most recent superhero theme party

The first semester of my second year in business school is rounding the halfway point, and I can see a light at the end of the tunnel.  As each day passes, I get more excited about my future.  Like many of my classmates, I am entering the final stages of the job hunt and looking forward to the structure, stability, and hopefully sanity that my future job will bring.  Don’t get me wrong: I love school.  I adore my classmates, look forward to social events, enjoy the classroom environment, and even like studying-it’s true (nerd alert!).

However, I miss having weekends out of the library, eating dinner with my husband, and unapologetically wearing pajamas after 7pm to get out of my work clothes.  Most of all, I can’t wait for a paycheck.  My husband and I are normally pretty frugal (some might even accuse Kevin-who is also a student at Kogod-of being cheap…you know who you are) but lately we have been spending ridiculous amounts of money. Between concert tickets, dinners out, shoes, and other purchases, one would think we had an income.

For now, we will just have to tighten the purse strings and get back to the library.  Dreaming about the future is exciting, but nothing beats making the most of the present.  Hopefully we can make the most of our time in school with as little money as possible.

Leave a Reply

