Quotes to Live By

The semester is flying by. It seems like we just got back from winter break, but we are well past halfway done with the school year…the home stretch so to speak. The sheer amount of responsibility that we as MBA students have acquired can, at times, be mind numbing. So it is easy to lose sight of what has been driving us all year.

Dean Ward spoke to our class a couple of days ago and spoke of a quote by Albert Einstein that I found rather interesting: “Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.” As students and budding professionals, we are groomed to place a high value on thing such as GPA, salary, etc. While those things hold importance, there is so much more to the game. Things that are difficult to measure often play a huge role in our experience. The relationships and connections we make are so valuable not just to our academic and professional careers, but our development as people. The MBA program has brought that fact into laser focus.

“If you admire somebody you should go ahead and tell them. People never get the flowers while they can still smell them.” Ahhhh yes, the infamous Kanye West, the self proclaimed “voice of a generation,” is responsible for this one.

While I can’t cosign everything that Mr. Yeezy says, I am particularly fond of this gem. I think people who genuinely show there appreciation for others is rare nowadays. Typically, most feedback is negative. If you are doing a good job, you normally don’t hear about it. Things as trivial as simple compliments can go a long way and it is really easy to underestimate the impact they have on people. Attitude, whether it is positive or negative, is extremely contagious. Try to spread the good and limit the bad.

Finally, ““It is never too late to be what you might have been.” This quote, by novelist George Eliot (Mary Anne Evans) is especially powerful. I think as we get bogged down with projects, exams, internship searches, and everything else that is thrust upon our plates, doubt about our futures can start to creep in.

I know there have been several occasions where I have questioned whether I would be able to accomplish everything that I set out to do at the beginning of the academic year. But, I know that the only real obstacle standing between me and the place I want to be is myself. My efforts will determine where I go, not my circumstances. That has helped me tremendously. Hopefully I can keep this focus not just for the remainder of the MBA program, but for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

